Atlantic 10 Announces POY, ROY, COY Award Winners

Khalif Wyatt, Myck Kabongo

Atlantic 10: Temple senior Khalif Wyatt was named Atlantic 10 Men’s Basketball Player of the Year and Saint Louis coach Jim Crews was chosen as the Coach of the Year the league announced Tuesday. VCU’s Briante Weber earned Defensive Player of the Year honors and Xavier freshman Semaj Christon was named the conference’s Rookie of the Year.

Cody Ellis of Saint Louis was named the A-10’s Sixth Man of the Year and Xavier’s Travis Taylor was selected for the Chris Daniels’ Most Improved Player Award. The league also released its All-Conference teams, which along with the major awards were voted on by a panel of the A-10’s 16 head coaches. The All-Academic team, which was selected by the A-10’s sports information directors, was also announced Tuesday.


The A-10 got the POY selection 100% correct (they also got the Coach of the Year right too – but I didn’t preach about that in previous posts). There is not much more I can say beyond what I wrote here. Wyatt was the single best choice for POY and was, hands down, the most important player on their team this season.

A side note about Jim Crews who took over SLU under such extreme circumstances and turned in a great season that included time as a ranked team towards the end of the season as well as the #1 seed in the A-10 tournament. Maybe I am biased, but I think he should be the national COY as well (at least in the consideration as a top 3 coach). Do the right thing, voters. Vote for Crews for COY. I know Miami had a completely unforeseen season that saw them go from unranked to top 5 in a matter of 3 weeks, but maybe that’s the fault of the voters ranking the teams and not really something Miami did, per se.